BABERGH DISTRICT COUNCIL

From: Interim Head of Democratic Services	Report Number:	t Number: S32		
To: Council	Date of Meeting:	28 June 2016		

POLITICAL BALANCE AND COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES AND JOINT COMMITTEES

1. Purpose of Report

In accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council at its meeting on 26 April 2016 agreed to the sizes and numerical allocation of seats to the various groups and to the composition of Committees.

2. Recommendations

- 2.1 That the Committees' size and numerical allocation of seats be approved as detailed in Appendix 1 to this report.
- 2.2 That Committee seats be allocated as set out in Appendix 2 to this report.

3. Financial Implications

3.1 None.

4. Legal Implications

The approval of the recommendations will ensure compliance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations.

5. Risk Management

5.1 This report is most closely linked with the Council's Significant Business Risk No. 1 – Political and Managerial Leadership. Key risks are set out below.

Risk Description	Likelihood	Impact	Mitigation Measures
Members not appointed and Committee not quorate	Very low	Critical	Discussions already held with Group Leaders

6. Consultations

6.1 Consultations have been undertaken with Group Leaders and other relevant Members.

7. Equality Analysis

7.1 Good governance, democratic, sound and transparent decision-making should enable potential inequalities to become apparent and should therefore be more obviously addressed.

8. Shared Service/Partnership Implications

8.1 There are no shared service implications.

9. Implications for the Joint Strategic Plan

Good governance, democratic, sound and transparent decision-making will ensure that the Joint Strategic Plan is delivered in an optimum fashion.

10. **Key Information**

- 10.1 Under the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 where a local authority is grouped for Committee composition purposes, the Authority is required to make arrangements to ensure that its Committees share the same political balance as the full Council.
- 10.2 The Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 allow ungrouped members to receive committee seats if any are left over once allocations have been made to the political groups in proportion to their membership of the authority. The political groups of Babergh make up 100% of the Council and therefore all of the politically balanced Committee seats go to political groups.
- 10.3 John Hinton and Stephen Williams have given notice that they intend to group as the Independent Conservative Group. The number of seats allocated to each group on the Council has therefore been recalculated
- 10.4 The current Committee structure has 53 available seats which go to political groups.
- 10.5 The first step, therefore, is for the Council to approve the numerical allocation of Committee seats, and the calculation in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 is shown in Appendix 1 to this report. The calculation provides for 53 Committee seats to the various groups as follows:-

Conservative - 36 seats
Independent and Labour - 11 seats
Liberal Democrat - 4 seats
Independent Conservatives - 2 seats

- 10.6 Members of the Regulatory Committee automatically serve on the Licensing Act 2003 Committee.
- 10.7 Members of the Joint Scrutiny Committee automatically serve on the Babergh Scrutiny Committee.
- 10.8 Members of the Joint Audit and Standards Committee automatically serve on the Babergh Audit Committee.

10.9 Discussions are on-going with Group Leaders on the allocation of seats and the current situation is reflected in Appendix 2. Any further updates will be provided at the meeting.

11. Appendices

Title	Location	
Appendix 1 – Size of Committee and numerical allocation	Attached	
Appendix 2 – Composition of Committees	Attached	

12. Background Documents

None.

Jeanette McGarry
Interim Head of Democratic Services

Tel: 01473 825891

Email: Jeanette.mcgarry@baberghmidsuffolk.gov.uk

K:\Governance\DOCS\Committee\REPORTS\COUNCIL\2016\280616-PoliticalBalanceandComposition.docx

APPENDIX 1

COMMITTEES	NO. OF SEATS	INDEPEND LABOU (9 MEMBI 20.93%	JR ERS)	(29 ME	ERVATIVE EMBERS) 7.44%	LIB/DEM (3 MEMBERS) 6.98%		INDEPENDENT CONSERVATIVE (2 MEMBERS) 4.65%	
STRATEGY	10	2.09	2	6.74	7	0.70	1	0.47	-
JOINT SCRUTINY	8	1.67	1	5.40	6	0.56	1	0.37	-
JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS	8	1.67	2	5.40	5	0.56	0	0.37	1
PLANNING	14	2.93	3	9.44	9	0.98	1	0.65	1
REGULATORY	10	2.09	2	6.74	7	0.70	1	0.47	-
JOINT APPOINTMENTS	3	0.62	1	2.02	2	0.20	-	0.14	-
TOTAL TARGET	53	11.09	11	35.74	36	3.7	4	2.46	2
TOTAL ACTUAL	53		11		36		4		2
DIFFERENCE			0		0		0		0

K:\Governance\DOCS\Committee\REPORTS\COUNCIL\2016\280616-PoliticalBalance-App 1.docx

COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES

STRATEGY COMMITTEE (10)

Clive Arthey Jennie Jenkins
Simon Barrett Richard Kemp
Sue Carpendale Frank Lawrenson
Alan Ferguson Jan Osborne
David Holland Peter Patrick

JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (8)

Peter Burgoyne Margaret Maybury
Barry Gasper Mark Newman
Kathryn Grandon John Nunn
Bryn Hurren Tina Campbell

JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE (8)

Tony Bavington William Shropshire
Michael Creffield Fenella Swan
1 Independent Conservatives John Ward
David Rose 1 Vacant seat

PLANNING COMMITTEE (14)

Sue Ayres Michael Holt
Melanie Barrett Adrian Osborne
Peter Beer Lee Parker
Sue Burgoyne Stephen Plumb
David Busby Nick Ridley
1 Independent Conservatives David Rose
Derek Davis Ray Smith

REGULATORY COMMITTEE (10)

Tom Burrows Richard Kemp
Tina Campbell Margaret Maybury
Sue Carpendale Alastair McCraw
Sian Dawson Nick Ridley
Kathryn Grandon Ray Smith

JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (3)

Simon Barrett James Long

Jennie Jenkins

K:\Governance\DOCS\Committee\REPORTS\COUNCIL\2016\280616-PoliticalBalance-App 2.docx